Visit Frombork
cathedral complex
The cathedral complex in Frombork is a unique historical complex of medieval buildings dominating the town skyline.

It comprises the Assumption of Mary and Saint Andrew the Apostle Archcathedral (whose construction started around 1330) along with the surrounding buildings and structures (Bishop Ferber's palace, the custodia, the Holy Mary Curia, the chapterhouse, the new vicariate building and defensive walls with fortified towers in the North, East and South and the gates in the South, North and West). The southwestern corner of the preserved section of the walls is guarded by a huge polygonal artillery tower with a belfry on top. One of the towers belonged once to Nicolaus Copernicus who was a canon priest of the Warmia Cathedral Chapter and wrote his famous work De revolutionibus orbium coelestium (On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Spheres) in Frombork, where he spent nearly half of his life. The tombstone of the brilliant scientist can be found in the cathedral. The bishop's palace rebuilt after the Second World War also lies within the bounds of the walls.

We would like to invite you to visit the Assumption of Mary and Saint Andrew the Apostle Cathedral.

Other objects included in the cathedral complex and open for visitors are governed by the Nicolaus Copernicus Museum:

the bishop's palace – the headquarters of the Nicolaus Copernicus Museum

belfry
 – the viewing point, the Radziejowski tower

planetarium – astronomy screenings



 

 

 

 

Visiting
Prices
Contacts


The Cathedral visiting regulations (pl)

cathedral complex
The cathedral complex in Frombork is a unique historical complex of medieval buildings dominating the town skyline.

It comprises the Assumption of Mary and Saint Andrew the Apostle Archcathedral (whose construction started around 1330) along with the surrounding buildings and structures (Bishop Ferber's palace, the custodia, the Holy Mary Curia, the chapterhouse, the new vicariate building and defensive walls with fortified towers in the North, East and South and the gates in the South, North and West). The southwestern corner of the preserved section of the walls is guarded by a huge polygonal artillery tower with a belfry on top. One of the towers belonged once to Nicolaus Copernicus who was a canon priest of the Warmia Cathedral Chapter and wrote his famous work De revolutionibus orbium coelestium (On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Spheres) in Frombork, where he spent nearly half of his life. The tombstone of the brilliant scientist can be found in the cathedral. The bishop's palace rebuilt after the Second World War also lies within the bounds of the walls.

We would like to invite you to visit the Assumption of Mary and Saint Andrew the Apostle Cathedral.

Other objects included in the cathedral complex and open for visitors are governed by the Nicolaus Copernicus Museum:

the bishop's palace – the headquarters of the Nicolaus Copernicus Museum

belfry
 – the viewing point, the Radziejowski tower

planetarium – astronomy screenings